Best MMA Books

minute/s reading time

Mixed martial arts (MMA) is one of the most physically and mentally demanding sports in the world. It takes years of practice and training to become a proficient MMA fighter. But even if you’re not interested in becoming a fighter, there are plenty of great MMA books that will give you a better understanding of the sport and its fighters. In this blog post, we’ll take a look at some of the best MMA books out there. We’ll also discuss why you should read them, regardless of whether or not you’re a fan of MMA. So if you’re looking for something to read that will help you understand the sport better, keep reading!

Best MMA Books

Mastering the Twister: Jiu Jitsu for Mixed Martial Arts Competition
$81.07

This book is about how Eddie Bravo, early in his career, dominated dozens of jiu-jitsu competitions with this unorthodox move. When the Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Federation banned his trademark move, he proved the effectiveness of his entire grappling style by defeating the legendary Royler Gracie without using "The Twister".

08/09/2022 01:49 pm GMT
Delavier's Mixed Martial Arts Anatomy
$18.29

This book is about how muscles work in sport. You will see how different exercises work for different sports. There are over 230 photos and 120 illustrations to help you understand.

08/09/2022 07:55 am GMT
Training for Warriors
$22.22

This book is about how to be a world champion in Mixed Martial Arts, Submission Grappling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, and Judo. There are more than 750 color photos in the book that will show you how to do exercises to make your body stronger.

08/09/2022 05:42 pm GMT
The Way of the Fight
$17.99

This book is about Georges "Rush" St. Pierre, a famous UFC fighter. He tells how he became a champion through hard work and determination. This book also has lessons for young readers that will help them in their own lives.

08/09/2022 12:33 am GMT
My Fight / Your Fight
$14.99

This book is about Ronda Rousey's journey to becoming an Olympic medalist in judo, reigning UFC women's bantamweight champion, and Hollywood star.

08/09/2022 12:32 am GMT
Quitters Never Win: My Life in UFC ― The American Edition
$19.20

This book tells the story of how Michael Bisping's life went from bad to good. I became a UFC champion and it was a very positive thing. There are new insights about his fighting career and what happened when he fought off attempted kidnappers.

08/09/2022 07:20 am GMT
Win or Learn: MMA, Conor McGregor & Me: A Trainer's Journey
$14.69

This book is written by John Kavanagh about his life and how has trained Conor McGregor. He was bullied when he was young, but he got into a fight to help someone. After that, he decided to learn how to defend himself. He started training fighters and promoting events in Ireland.

08/09/2022 12:36 am GMT
Got Fight?: The 50 Zen Principles of Hand-to-Face Combat
$13.89

This book tells you how to fight like Forrest Griffin, who is a champion mixed martial artist. He won the first season of The Ultimate Fighter. The book has tips from Erich Krauss, who is a Muay Thai fighter and co-author of Mixed Martial Arts: The Book of Knowledge.

08/09/2022 12:33 am GMT
Becoming the Natural: My Life In and Out of the Cage
$23.70

This book tells the story of the life of a six-time UFC champion, Randy Couture. He had a difficult childhood, but he was able to overcome it with hard work and determination. He also won against Brazilian fighter Vitor Belfort early in his career. Later, he defeated Tito Ortiz for the light-heavyweight title.

07/24/2022 12:38 am GMT
Why I Fight: The Belt Is Just an Accessory
$14.99

B.J. Penn, the UFC Lightweight Champion, says that "the belt is just an accessory." In this honest memoir, Penn explains why he fights and what Jiu-Jitsu means to him. This book will be interesting for fans of UFC and Jiu-Jitsu, as well as readers who are interested in learning more about

08/09/2022 01:31 pm GMT
Total MMA: Inside Ultimate Fighting
$19.95

This book is about how MMA became popular in Japan, but it didn't become as popular in America until Spike TV started airing it. The Ultimate Fighter show helped make MMA more popular, and people started to like it more. This book has all the history about MMA so you can understand what is happening now.

08/09/2022 07:24 am GMT
No Holds Barred: The Complete History of Mixed Martial Arts in America
$16.95

This book tells the story of how mixed martial arts began and how it has developed over the years. 125 interviews and boxes of documents and notes were used to create this book. It is the most comprehensive history of mixed martial arts ever written and is a must-read for all fans of this sport.

08/09/2022 12:38 am GMT
A Fighter's Heart: One Man's Journey Through the World of Fighting
$12.82

This book is about a man named Sheridan who tried to understand fighting and violence. He did this by boxing, doing Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and fighting in Ultimate Fighting championships. This gave him a good understanding of what it is like to be a fighter and to be violent.

08/09/2022 12:42 am GMT

Other Notable Names

  • Greg Jackson
  • Anderson Silva
  • Sam Sheridan
  • Jonathan Snowden
  • BJ Penn
  • George St Pierre

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is mixed martial arts?

A: Mixed martial arts, or MMA, refers to a full-contact sport that combines various fighting techniques from different martial arts traditions. MMA fighters typically train in striking, grappling, and submission techniques to defeat their opponents.

Q: Why is MMA so popular?

A: There are a number of factors that contribute to the popularity of mixed martial arts. These include the increasing popularity of UFC, the rise of social media, and the growing popularity of other full-contact sports such as boxing and kickboxing.

Q: How can I get started in mixed martial arts?

A: If you are interested in getting involved in MMA, the first step is to find a reputable gym in your area that offers MMA training. Once you have found a gym, you can then sign up for classes and begin learning the various techniques involved in MMA.

You may also want to consider training with a personal coach or joining an MMA club in order to get more personalized instruction.

Q: What are some of the risks associated with MMA training?

A: Like any form of physical training, there are certain risks associated with MMA. These may include injuries to the muscles, joints, and ligaments. You may also be at risk for more serious injuries such as concussions or head trauma if you are not properly trained.

Q: What should I wear for MMA training?

A: Most MMA gyms will require you to wear protective gear such as mouthguards, gloves, shin guards, and headgear in order to reduce the risk of injury. You may also want to invest in a quality pair of MMA shorts or rash guards to help protect your skin from friction and exposure.

In order to be successful in mixed martial arts, it is important to have a strong understanding of the sport and the techniques involved. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced fighter, there are many excellent resources available to help you improve your skills and learn more about this exciting sport. With the right training and support, you can achieve your goals in MMA.

Final Thoughts

Mixed martial arts is a full-contact sport that combines many different fighting styles and techniques. There are many factors that contribute to its popularity, including the rise of social media, the growing popularity of other full-contact sports, and the increasing popularity of UFC. If you are interested in getting started in MMA, the first step is to find a reputable gym or training program and to invest in quality protective gear. With hard work and dedication, you can achieve your goals in this exciting and challenging sport.

Origin fighter

Origin Fighter is a blog for athletes and fitness enthusiasts to learn about Jiu-Jitsu, MMA, Wrestling, Boxing, Health & Nutrition, Performance and more. Origin Fighter also provides information on how to train smarter with resources such as workout plans and diets tailored for your goals.

About the Author

I am a huge fan of both BJJ and MMA. Jiu-jitsu is my biggest passion, and I’ve been training it for more than 5 years. I have recently been promoted to a purple belt. In this blog, I will be giving you tips on how to improve and how to choose the best BJJ equipment! Learn More